Interview with Deepak Saxena and Vicky Janicki about the Linux Kernel Training Topics being offered at Q2.12 Linaro Connect in Hong Kong.

UPDATE: Here’s the link to the actual interview on youtube – http://youtu.be/5WiZA-b_XNg (There’s also some useful reference links in the notes there)

Later tonight, around 8pm EST/5pmPST/0000UTC I’ll be interviewing Deepak Saxena, Tech Lead for the Kernel Team at Linaro and Vicky Janicki, Program Director for Member Services at Linaro about the training sessions which will be offered to attendees during the Q2.12 Linaro Connect event being held at the Gold Coast Hotel in Hong Kong from 28 May through 1 June, 2012. ┬áThis interview will be live and both streamed and recorded using Google + Hangouts on Air.

We’ll be discussing the following ‘Into Training’ sessions, which are currently scheduled to take place on Monday 28 June 2012. More about the schedule can be found on the Linaro Connect schedule page.

Upstreaming 101 -In this training session Deepak, will cover the basic “Whys” and “Hows” of upstreaming. In the “Why” section, will quickly go over the reasons that working with upstream is beneficial and in the “How” section will discuss both code design choices and also low level commands used to generate upstream ready patches.

Introduction to GitMatt Waddel, FAE and Support Engineer at Linaro, will teach attendees about Git-the distributed version control system used by developers to manage the Linux kernel. Matt will walk attendees though the basics of using Git find it in this session.

Introduction to the ARM SoC tree – In this session, Arnd Bergmann, the ARM SoC tree maintainer, gives attendees and overview of the ARM SoC Tree.

Introduction to Device Tree – In this session, Thomas Abraham, of the Linaro Kernel Working Group, will provide an overview of creating Device Tree bindings for new and existing platforms and SoCs.

Introduction to PinMux/Pin Control – For this session, Linus Walleij, Kernel Engineer at Linaro, will discuss how to develop a driver and give an over view of the API.

So if you want to hear more about what attendees can look forward to during these sessions, which we will try to stream live via hangouts on air during the Connect event,  but which will be recorded and made available on the Connect Website after the event, then you can view the interview via my Google+ Page or my Youtube Channel starting tonight, Wednesday, May 16, 2012 at 8pm EST/5PM PST/0000 UTC.

akgraner

2 Responses to “Interview with Deepak Saxena and Vicky Janicki about the Linux Kernel Training Topics being offered at Q2.12 Linaro Connect in Hong Kong.

Trackbacks & Pings

Leave a Reply Text

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *